Author Events
We're excited to welcome authors to the store to share their books with you and to share their writing journey with you. 
September 19th, 3-4:4pm - Even as We Breathe with Annette Saunooke Clapsaddle
Morganton Community House
THIS IS A TICKETED EVENT WITH IN-PERSON AND VIRTUAL TICKETS AVAILABLE.  TICKETS ARE REQUIRED AND RESERVE  YOU A COPY OF ANNETTE'S BOOK.  Purchase your ticket here
Reader Meet Writer - A virtual series in collaboration with the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance (SIBA)
These are virtual events that take place online.  Seating is limited and an RSVP is required.  RSVP by emailing events@adventureboundbooks.com no later than noon the day before the event.  You will receive an email on the morning of the event with details to log in to the online event. 
September 10th, 7-8p.m. - Liar's Circus with Carl Hoffman

Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail meets Strangers in Their Own Land in this work of daring and immersive contemporary anthropology: Carl Hoffman, who has written about the most dangerous and remote corners of the world, journeys deep inside Donald Trump’s rallies, seeking to understand the strange and powerful tribe that forms the president’s base.

September 15th, 3-4p.m. - Set My Heart to Five with Simon Stephenson
Join Simon Stephenson as he discusses his delightfully entertaining, deceptively poignant debut novel about a human-like bot named Jared, whose emotional awakening leads him on an unforgettable quest for connection, belonging and possibly even true love.
 
September 17th, 7-8p.m. - Prejudential: Black America and the Presidents with Margaret Kimberley

Join Margaret Kimberley as she discusses her concise, authoritative exploration of America's relationship with race and black Americans through the lens of the presidents who are elected to represent and govern all of its people.

September 29th, 5-6p.m. - Connor Towne O'Neill/Down Along With That Devil's Bones

In Down Along with That Devil’s Bones, journalist Connor Towne O’Neill takes a deep dive into American history, exposing the still-raging battles over monuments dedicated to one of the most notorious Confederate generals, Nathan Bedford Forrest. Through the lens of these conflicts, O’Neill examines the legacy of white supremacy in America, in a sobering and fascinating work sure to resonate with readers of Tony Horwitz, Timothy B. Tyson, and Robin DiAngelo.
 

October 1st, 7-8p.m. - Confessions on the 7:45 with Lisa Unger

In Lisa Unger’s best novel yet, CONFESSIONS ON THE 7:45 takes fans for a thrilling ride reminiscent of the classic Strangers on a Train. Perfect for readers of Paula Hawkins and Karin Slaughter, this riveting psychological suspense begins with a chance encounter on a commuter train and shows why you should never, ever make conversation with strangers.

October 6th, 5-6p.m. - Escaping Dreamland with Charlie Lovett

Inspired by books like the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew, Charlie Lovett’s sweeping, rich, new historical novel Escaping Dreamland follows a trio of young authors, in 1906 New York City, who come together to create a series of children’s books that will be highly influential for generations to come and echo through the century in unexpected ways.

October 8th, 7-8p.m. - Black Women, Black Love with Dianne M. Stewart

Dianne M. Stewart's analysis of social history examines the complex lineage of America’s oppression of Black companionship. According to the 2010 US census, more than seventy percent of Black women in America are unmarried. Black Women, Black Love reveals how four centuries of laws, policies, and customs have created that crisis.

October 10th, 11am-12p.m. - Out! with Miles McKenna

Activist Miles McKenna came out on his YouTube channel in 2017, documenting his transition to help other teens navigate their identities and take charge of their own coming-out stories. From that wisdom comes Out!, the ultimate coming-out survival guide. Find validation, inspiration, and support for your questions big and small—whether you’re exploring your identity or seeking to understand the experience of an awesome queer person in your life.

October 15th, 7-8p.m. - Better Boys, Better Men with Andrew Reiner

In Better Boys, Better Men, cultural critic and New York Times contributor Andrew Reiner argues that men today are working on an outdated model of masculinity, which prevents them in moments of distress and vulnerability from marshalling the courage, strength, and resiliency—the very characteristics we regularly champion in men—they need to thrive in a world vastly different from the ones their fathers and grandfathers grew up in.

October 24th, 11am-12p.m. - Jonathan Auxier/Willa the Wisp + Kristen Miller/Every Thing You Need to Know When You Are 8 + Beth Ferry/Fox & Rabbit Make Believe

Discuss these fun new chapter books for kids with authors Jonathan Auxier/Willa the Wisp + Kristen Miller / Every Thing You Need to Know When You Are 8 + Beth Ferry/Fox & Rabbit Make Believe.

Lenoir Rhyne University Visiting Writers Series
It is a great honor to be a part of the 2019-2020 Visiting Writers Series!  You'll find us on the Lenoir Rhyne University campus the evening of author events providing books for purchase.  Be sure to check out full details at the LRU VWS website
Past Bookstore Events
Laura McCaskill, Febraury 14th, 2020
Author of Her Keepers and Fallow
Mark Warren, January 24th, 2020
The Ancient Ways of the Cherokee
Annette Saunooke Clapsaddle, December 5th, 2019
Contributor in Step Into the Circle
Elizabeth Shelburne, November 13th, 2019
Author of Holding On To Nothing
Laura McCaskill, October 12th 2019
Author of Her Keepers
John Adam Wasowicz, October 5th, 2019
Author of Jones Point
Seth Hawkins, September 14th, 2019 & STOP THE BLEED Training
Author of Vertical Aid and Wilderness EMS
Charles Gritzner, September 5th, 2019
Author of North Carolina Ghost Lights and Legends
Katie Kath, August 24th, 2019
Illustrator of Me and the Measure of Things
Joan Barasovska, June 22nd, 2019
Author of Birthing Age, a collection of poetry
C. P. Whitaker, May 25, 2019
Author of For the Love of God and For Crying Out Loud
Arcy Patton, May 4th, 2019
Author of Effer Dandy Wanted Candy
Viviane Elbee, May 4th, 2019
Author of Teach Your Giraffe to Ski
Joy Resor, May 3rd, 2019
Author of Designed to Shine
Danielle Gauwain, April 27th, 2019
Author of Scholar of Seduction
Kathy Foster, March 23rd, 2019
Author of Somewhere in the Silence
Les Cochran, October 13, 2018
Book 1: Sax Club
Book 2: Blind Pig
Book 3: Get Even
Beth Revis, October 1, 2018
NY Times Bestselling author of numerous books, including Give the Dark My Love & Bid My Soul Farewell.
Christina Xiong, September 29, 2018
Author of The Gathering Song, a collection of poetry
Ben Anderson, September 27, 2018
Author of Smokies Chronicles
Buck Rish, September 8, 2018
Author of numerous books including Dawg Knows
Seth Hawkins, Corey Winstead, John Chimiak, August 30, 2018
Author of Vertical Aid and Wilderness EMS
Fred Epeley, August 17, 2018
Author of Growing Up In Ottie's World, Don't Let the Green Wave Drown You, and A Tarheel Marches
Dr. Natalie Spencer, July 20th, 2018
Author of Mindful Practices for Helping Troubled Teens
Austin Helms, July 14th, 2018
Author of Orientation to Graduation (O2G)
P. S. Broaddus, July 13th, 2018
Author of A Hero's Curse, and Nightrage Rising
Mary Ann Domanska, June 19th, 2018
Author of Emic Rizzle, Tinkerer
John Adam Wasowicz, June 9th, 2018

Author of Daingerfield Island

Off-Site Author Events & Collaborations
We've been thrilled to support the author events of local groups and schools!
Andrew Maraniss, East McDowell Middle School
Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori, Grace Episcopal Church
Multiple Authors, nErDcampNC
Mesha Maren, Lenoir Public Library
Judy Goldman, Hickory Public Library
Mark de Castrique, Morganton Friends of the Library
Contact the bookstore if you would like to have author books available at your upcoming author event.
Information for Authors:
If you are an author interested in promoting your book through an event at our store, we welcome your interest.  We ask that self-published authors consign their books with us in exchange for scheduling an event at the store and for our energy behind promoting the event on our website, social media venues, monthly newsletters, and in-store.  We are not able to consign every book that is presented to us, but will review your request to consign books in the store.  Please mail a printed copy or email a digital copy of the book you'd like to have considered.  If your books are selected for consignment, we will also reach out to you about setting up an author event.  Please complete our Self-Published Author Consignment Request form to begin the process.
 
If you are a traditionally published author, please stop by, call the store, or email for additional information and next steps.  Be sure to include information about your publishing company so that we may contact them to secure books for an event. 

© 2018 by Adventure Bound Books, LLC